Charlie Cole wins the first ever Jude Morris Celebration Trophy at the Mike Brown Memorial meeting 2023

Charlie Cole wins the first ever Jude Morris Celebration Trophy at the Mike Brown Memorial meeting 2023.

With the wettest month on record for 40-years, the Marshfield track crew prayed for sunshine and all eyes were on the weather apps for the 7th April and fingers were crossed for this traditional Good Friday Race.

Both the weather and track played their part in what was a fantastic meeting with two great 18 minute plus one lap moto’s. A full 45 rider line up, that boasted some of the UK fastest riders including Alfie Jones, Charlie and Ollie Cole, Jak Taylor, Billy Askew, James Barker, Lucy Barker and Freddie Gardiner to name just a few, took to the start of the very first Jude Morris Celebration Trophy race held at the legendary Mike Brown Memorial meeting at Marshfield Motopark in Gloucestershire!

In race one Chambers Racing Alfie Jones came out of the first turn ahead of Jak Taylor and Billy Askew; Ollie Cole had a strong start and Freddie Gardiner was leading the 125s. Charlie Cole began to charge at the halfway point and worked his way into second; Askew went missing (clutch); Jak Taylor in third. Jones and Cole battled for three or four laps before Cole emerged ahead of Jones, who lost his fuel cap, that was enough to allow Charlie to win race one.

In race two, again Jones and the 34 of Josh Bassett got a flyer as did Askew. Jak Taylor was in the mix and Charlie Cole had a much better start and made a quick pass on Jones in lap one. The two put the hammer down and both began to draw a gap; Jones was also pulling away from Askew and Taylor. At the halfway point, Jones put a charge in and closed the gap on Cole for the next four or five laps the two charged but Jones just couldn’t find a way past. Cole took moto two, Jones second, Askew third and Taylor 4th.

So after two great races it was Charlie Cole, Alfie Jones and Jak Taylor who took the overall podium places.

Charlie Cole walked away with £500.00 in prize money and the JMR101 Celebration Trophy, a pair of Oakley O Frame 2.0 Pro from Bob at Goggle Tek; Alfie Jones in second receiving £300.00 prize money and £200.00 for Jak Taylor in 3rd.

The Jude Morris Foundation would like to say a huge thank you to everyone involved in such a great meeting and allowing us to host a celebration race for Jude.

We really hope to be back bigger and even better in 2024.


Image credit: @muddy_rut